The Origins of a Screenplay

by Michael Amundsen

catandthetrollsfilm

As a writer, I have always had a passion for the stories of my immigrant ancestors. But my choice of protagonists has developed and changed over the years. As a young man, I had been attracted to the struggles of the men, the fathers. As I grew older, I began to understand that the stories of the women were often left behind.

For example in my own family, my grandfather would become disabled at the age of 47, leaving my grandmother to take the responsibility for the welfare of her family as well as my incapacitated grandfather.

This is a situation that would repeat itself when years later, my mother would suddenly have to singly support the family and look after the welfare of my father who was dying a slow death from cancer.

There is no doubt I pulled from these experiences in fashioning the story of Siri, theā€¦

View original post 743 more words

